Skip to main content


Open Main MenuClose Main Menu

Frequently Asked Questions

  • What is a “block rate” model?

    Under this model, the cost for tuition and University-wide fees is the same for students taking 12 to 18 hours in a semester.  Additional college-based (such as equipment/technology fees) and course-based fees (such as field trips) are assessed on a per credit hour basis. Undergraduate students taking more than 18 are charged the block rate for the first 18 hours and pay the regular per credit hour rate for each hour over 18.

  • How is tuition calculated?

    Students not in the block rate pay tuition based on the number of credits received for a particular course. In other words, the charge for a three-credit course would be three times the hourly tuition rate for that level of a course. There is one rate per credit hour incurred for undergraduate courses regardless of the course number depending upon the residency status. There is one rate per credit hour for graduate courses depending upon the residency status.

  • How are fees calculated?

    Fees associated with attendance at Oklahoma State University are charged per credit hour. You would multiply the total number of hours you are taking by the amount of the fee to calculate your charges. Some fees like the college technology fees or Tulsa campus-parking fee are associated with the college or location where the classes are taught and are based upon the number of hours enrolled at that location. If you were taking one three hour course on the Tulsa campus, you would multiply the Tulsa parking fee by three to calculate your charges.

  • How are fees approved?

    Any additions or increases in tuition and/or mandatory fees are implemented only after careful scrutiny by the University Administration, and always in an effort to contribute to the betterment and general welfare of the academic and campus community, as well as the individual students. The University then submits requests for tuition and/or fee increases to the OSU A&M Regents, as well as the Oklahoma State Regents for Higher Education. Based on guidelines set forth by the Oklahoma Legislature, the total charged by OSU for tuition and mandatory fees must always be at or below the Big XII average. Both groups review requests and verify that the legislative guidelines have been met, and then make the final determination of approval.

  • I still have questions. Where can I get help?

    If you have specific questions concerning tuition and fee increases, please email them to

Back To Top