- Contact Information
- Financial Responsibility
- Tuition & Fees Estimator
- Tuition & Fees
- Block Rate Information
- Billing Statements
- Payment Methods
- Payment Option Plan
- University Catalog - Bursar Information
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Credit Card Conv. Fee FAQ
- 1098-T FAQ
- 1098-T Viewing & Printing
- FERPA & Privacy
- Financial Aid
- Financial Literacy
- Veteran Benefit Services
- Red Flag Rules
- Event Calendar
- Assoc. VP & Controller
Tuition Lock (Oklahoma Residents Only)
Students beginning fall 2016 will be eligible to choose their tuition preference beginning July 1, 2016. The opportunity to request locked tuition will remain open until just prior to the start of the fall semester. For students enrolling for the first time on or after the first day of the semester, tuition options must be chosen on the day of enrollment. Every new freshman has the option to choose the standard tuition rate or choose the new tuition lock rate by submitting the form located at the bottom of this page under Forms.
2016-2017 Acaedmic Year Information
The following graphic displays the 2013 - 2017 four year comparison of standard tuition percentage increase versus the guaranteed rate offered to students starting in 2013-2017 had the current guaranteed tuition law been enacted at the time.
The guaranteed lock tuition rate for first-time, full-time, in state freshman for the 2016-2017 is a $189.41 per credit hour ($5,682 annually for 30 credit hours – eligible up to 4 consecutive years. The non-guaranteed standard tuition rate for all students in 2016-2017 is $164.75 per credit hour ($4,943 for 30 credit hours – adjusted each year). The average annual tuition increase for resident undergraduate students over the most current four years has been 2.8%. For the guaranteed tuition program to be the most cost beneficial choice, the non-guaranteed rates would have to increase by an average of 9.4% each year for the next four years. The following graphic displays the 2013-2017 four year comparison of standard tuition percentage increase versus the actual guaranteed rate that was offered to students starting 2013-2014.
**Please note the costs reflect tuition only (the only portion of costs included in the tuition lock program) and assumes 30 credit hours per academic year. Course fees are not included in the lock tuition legislation.
What is Tuition Lock?
Beginning with the 2008-2009 academic year, Oklahoma Legislation required new freshman and transfer students be given the opportunity to choose the system through which they plan to pay for their college education - either at a set rate based on the projected average of tuition costs for the next four years or at the standard rate charged each year. This Oklahoma law applied to all 4-year higher education institutions in Oklahoma.
Who is eligible?
First time, full time, in state resident students are eligible for the tuition lock program as long as they remain continuously enrolled for at least four (4) years.
**Per Oklahoma Regents for Higher Education policy, students who receive tuition waivers do NOT have the option of choosing the locked tuition rate. More information about tuition waivers and other forms of financial aid is available at http://www.okstate.edu/finaid.
How do I choose?
For students beginning Fall 2016 - Beginning July 1, 2016 (after the tuition and fees are officially set for the school year), students who prefer to use the tuition lock rate based on the average of the projected tuition for the next four years will elect the "guaranteed tuition rate" by completing a form located at the bottom of this page under Forms.
New freshmen who have already enrolled may select their tuition rate by completing the form beginning July 1 until two weeks prior to their first term of enrollment. Eligible students who enroll for the first time at OSU during the two weeks before the start of the term may elect lock tuition on their day of enrollment by submitting a Lock Tuition Form to the Office of the Bursar before the start of the term. If initial enrollment occurs after the term starts, students must use a Lock Tuition Form to select lock tuition on the day of enrollment. The Lock Tuition Form is available on the Bursar website under Tuition & Fees.
For those unsure how to decide, it may help to consider the locked tuition as you would a fixed rate mortgage (tuition lock) versus a variable rate mortgage (standard tuition rate). The fixed rate is more expensive at the beginning and can remain that way, while the variable rate may increase over the course of multiple years, but cannot easily be predicted.
A first time, full time, in state resident student is eligible for the tuition lock program as long as he/she remains continuously enrolled as a full-time student. Details to note:
- The tuition lock is guaranteed for a maximum of four (4) years, with exceptions for degree programs officially recognized by the university as 5-year programs. These are: Architectural Engineering, Architecture, and Landscape Architecture.
- The tuition lock program is active for 4 years of undergraduate study for most degree programs. At the expiration point of the tuition lock, the student is required to pay the nonguaranteed standard rate of tuition for the remaining semesters of attendance.
- If, for any reason, a student does not maintain consecutive full time enrollment (withdraws or drops out of the institution), he/she is ineligible to return at the locked rate, and will be charged the standard rate of tuition for the remaining semesters of attendance.
- If a student drops below full-time status in any given semester (excluding summer), he/she will automatically revert back to the standard rate for subsequent semesters.
- If a student transfers to another state institution, he/she will be charged the amount of resident tuition charged to other first time students enrolling on the new campus.
- If the student withdraws for military or national defense emergencies, he/she can re-enter and return to the original guaranteed tuition rate if the tuition lock was chosen as a first-time student.
The guaranteed rate includes tuition only. Additional university fees charged and costs incurred by students are not included in the tuition lock option. To calculate an estimate of tuition and fees, visit http://bursar.okstate.edu.
Enrollment in courses that do not use the standard undergraduate tuition rate, such as graduate level courses and outreach courses (some Web based courses students may choose through the regular campus enrollment system are actually offered via Outreach), are not included in the guaranteed tuition program.
Frequently Asked Questions
What if a participating student has to withdraw from classes in a given semester?
If the student withdraws for military or national defense emergencies, he/she can re-enter and pay the original guaranteed tuition rate.
What if the student takes longer than four years to graduate?
The tuition lock program expires after four years unless the student is enrolled in a degree program officially requiring more than four years to completion. At the expiration point of the tuition lock, the student would be required to pay the standard rate of tuition for the remaining semesters.
What if the student transfers to another state institution?
If a student transfers to another state institution, he/she will be charged the amount of resident tuition charged to other first time students enrolling on the new campus.
What if the student has a tuition waiver?
Students who have been granted tuition waivers are NOT eligible for the tuition lock program.
When do I need to decide?
Students choosing the tuition lock program are required to sign up through the Student Information System. First time, full time, in-state students for the 2016-2017 academic year will begin choosing their tuition program on July 1, 2016. The tuition lock selection must be made before the fall semester begins. Students who enroll for the first time at OSU after the semester begins will elect their tuition rate at the time of enrollment.
I don't want to lock tuition. How do I make my choice official?
Students who wish to remain with the standard tuition and fees rates are not required to do anything. Your choice is automatic.